Project Bike: Kestrel 4000 Bike Fit, prt 1

part 1

Yep, I am in the market for another bike frame, this time it is a TT/Tri frame. 2011 and late 2010 has brought some great functional frames such as the Scott Plasma 20, Trek Speed Concept 9.9 and Kestrel 4000 and others are other way… La Pierre’s FDJ, Blue Triad SL and Felt’s B2.  I am interested in frames with head tube to stem integration. The Kestrel does not fit into this category which makes for easy breakdown for traveling which is a must for me.

Above image does not represent my proposed components… Rotor Cranks, Syntace base bar with Cobb Wrist relief bars, and will be using Gray wheels.  I personally like the Gold/White colors of 09/10 model. The current graphics done by Betty Designs are a bit to “heavy” for my taste. I will probably have it custom painted as shown above. Color and components subjet to change.

A while back (over Halloween week end) I spent some time on a Serotta size cycle to determine if a Kestrel 4000 size 52.5 frame will fit me. What length and angle stem would be needed, how much seat post needed. Kestrel has a great Fit Calculator on their website to help determine what size bike is best after inputting in some basic rider measurements.

Their 52.5 frame is much smaller than I typically ride but if Crowe can ride a size 52, I think I can ride a smaller frame tot. My current road frame is a 56 and tri frame is a 55, both of which fit great. My tri bike has a European seat tube angle of 76 but I ride it as if it was a 78° ish. With the Kestrel and saddle I will be using, I will have more options due to its sliding seat post adjuster. I think it is a Ritchey patent.

I did not do any Retül captures with this preliminary fitting. Just used the Computrainer with it’s spin scan. This prelim session was a fit for comfort and make sure I can get a way with the smaller frame. During my self-fitting I tested a few different saddles, two different pedal options and planned aero bar/extension set up.

The Serotta size cycle fit session concluded that the 52.5 frame will work! Yahoo.

My existing tri bike must go to make room for my project bike.

The frame set (size 55) is for sale which includes front (da) and rear derailleurs (105), 10 speed bar-end shifters (rear friction only), brakes (ult), Vision base bar w/vision brake levers, and Syntace C2 clip on bars. Only used for about 7 races. not used since July of 2009. Not included crankset, wheels and saddle.

Dam clean, frame in like new condition… let me know if interested for additional photos and pricing.

In the market for Gray Carbon wheels, Rotor and Ritchey bike components, ISM and Cobb saddles? send an email with your wish list for the best pricing available.  PedPowerPerform Lab

3 thoughts on “Project Bike: Kestrel 4000 Bike Fit, prt 1

  1. Ok, I’m shocked at the frame size difference from your current bike to the 4000. This is EXACTLY my concern right now – I don’t have anyone around here that could fit me properly for it. Grrrr.

    I love the green – maybe they’d do that special for the Trakkers crew????

  2. my next project bike blog update will be my actual test ride/fitting on a borrowed size 52.5 and all works out good. did you use the kestrel fit calculator? smaller bike easier to travel with. for fitting into a huge hockey bag without bike fees.

Leave a Reply

